CFAES Give Today
OSU Extension

College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences


CES Honorary Members

Honorary Members

Chi Epsilon Sigma is appreciative of the encouragement and support provided by co-workers and administration since 1986. They have stretched our thinking and our stamina, and strengthened our foundations. CES has benefitted from their experience and wisdom.

Though not an annual event, CES has recognized 20 Honorary Members from 1987-2012. A complete list is available inthe CES History section of this website.

A highlight of the first annual meeting of CES in October 1987 was the recognition of our first Honorary Members: Dr. J. Michael Sprott, Director; Dr. Clarence Cunningham, Associate Director; Dr. Frederick Hutchinson, VP, Ag Admin; Carlene Hamilton, Secretary to the Director; Dr. Keith Smith, Leader Personnel Development. These people were our “guardian angels” giving form to the vision of this fledgling organization.

Back row – Clarence Cunningham, President E. Gordon Gee, Bobby Moser, Front row – Shirley Brooks-Jones, Jo Jones, Carlene HamiltonThe 1992 annual meeting marked our 5 year milestone. University President E. Gordon Gee honored us by speaking at our meeting and accepting our invitation to become an Honorary Member. Five of our earlier Honorees were in attendance to celebrate the occasion: Dr, Bobby Moser, Carlene Hamilton, Dr. Jo Jones, Shirley Brooks Jones and Dr. Clarence Cunningham.

Beth Flynn was recognized as an Honorary Member for her support of a regional professional development program open to all Extension staff. Beth agreed to travel the state providing StrengthFinder Training at 6 different locations throughout Ohio. Most recently, Jared Morrison, Organization Development Consultant, CFAES OSUE LOD, has worked tirelessly with the CES Board on several Annual Meeting events.

From time to time CES honors others in Extension for their partnership and support of this organization.  Honorary Membership is bestowed as a small token of our respect and appreciation to those who have enhanced our organization and members through their efforts.

Nominations may come to the Board from the membership and are acted on at the October board meeting and are announced at the CES Annual Meeting in December.

Past Recipients are

1987 Dr. Clarence Cunningham Associate Director, OSU Extension CES Honorary Clarence Cunningham 1987
1987 Carlene Hamilton, CPS

Secretary to Director of Extension

*In Memory

CES Honorary Carlene Hamilton 1987
1987 Dr. Keith Smith Leader, Personnel Development CES Honorary Keith Smith 1987
1987 Dr. J. Michael Sprott Director, OSU Extension CES Honorary J. Michael Sprott 1987
1988 Dr. Frederick Hutchinson

Vice President, Ag Admin

*In Memory

CES Honorary Member Fred Hutchison 1988
1988 Dr. Bobby D. Moser Director, OSU Extension CES Honorary Bobby Moser 1988
1989 Dr. Shirley Brooks Jones Assistant to VP Ag Admin CES Honorary Shirley Brooks Jones 1989
1990 Dr. Jo Jones

Associate Director, OSU Extension

*In Memory

CES Honoarary Member Jo Jones 1990
1992 Dr. E. Gordon Gee President, The Ohio State University CES Honorary E. Gordon Gee 1992
1993 Dr. Nikki L. Conklin Associate Director, OSU Extension CES Honorary Nikki L. Conklin 1993
1995 Dr. Gail Gunderson   Gail Gunderson 1995 Honorary CES Member
1996 Ella Mae Bard FCS Agent, Knox County CES Honorary Ella Mae Bard 1996
2000 Linda Kutelik Leader, New Personnel Development CES Honorary Linda Kutilek 2000
2001 Dr. Joe Heimlich Leader, Environmental Sciences  
2001 Dr. Jeffery E. King Assistant Director, 4-H Youth Development CES Honorary Jeff King 2001
2003 Dr. James Connor Assistant Professor, CFAES  
2004 Steve Lichtensteiger Systems Manager, CommTech Steve Lichtensteiger 2004 Honorary CES Member
2004 John Victor Graphics Design Specialist, CommTech John Victor 2004 CES Honorary Member
2007 Cindy Tschanen Buxton Asst Manager, Business Office CES Honorary Cindy Buxton 2007
2012 Beth Flynn Program Specialist, OSU Leadership Center CES Honorary Beth Flynn 2012
2016 Jared Morrison Organization Development Consultant, CFAES OSUE LOD 2016 CES Honorary Member Jared Morrison
2021 Bob Concitis Fiscal Officer/ Cost Center Manager Bob Concitis
2021 Jesse Buxton Fiscal Officer/ Cost Center Manager Jesse Buxton